A Fragment of Fear

A Fragment of Fear➽ A Fragment of Fear Free ➳ Author John Bingham – Tbjewellers.co.uk FROM THE INTRODUCTION BY JOHN LE CARR This novel comprises some of the best work of an extremely gifted and perhaps under regarded British crime novelist What gave John Bingham his magic was something FROM THE INTRODUCTION BY JOHN LE CARR This novel comprises some of the best work of an extremely gifted and perhaps under regarded British crime novelist What gave John Bingham his magic was something we look for in every writer, too often in vain an absolute command of the internal landscape A Fragment Kindle - of his characters, acutely observed by a humane but wonderfully corrosive eye On a recuperative trip in Italy after a car accident, reporter and novelist James Compton is witness to the discovery of a murder victim, a woman who had been vacationing at the same hotel Lucy Dawson seemed like a gentle old lady, and so the motive for her death appeared to be unmeditated assault But when he returns to England and makes a benign inquiry into her background, Compton receives a note warning him to leave the past alone a note clearly written on his own typewriter, though his apartment shows no sign of a break inUnable to resist pursuing the unfinished story, Compton s own investigation reveals a sinister side to Lucy Dawson and a cold blooded conspiracy she may have helped to perpetrate while alive Suddenly Compton finds a dangerous net closing in around him threatening phone calls, terrifying invasions of privacy, and no way of proving to the police that anyone is responsible but himselfIn the tradition of Agatha Christie and Patricia Highsmith, John Bingham s writing has earned him a place amongst the great suspense writers of the twentieth century With taut, compelling prose, A Fragment of Fear is a captivating thriller by a master storyteller at the height of his powers.

John Michael Ward Bingham who became the seventh Lord Clanmorris was born in Haywards Heath on November He was educated at Cheltenham College and became an art editor for the Sunday Dispatch He married Madeleine Mary Ebel on July During the Second World War he served with the Royal A Fragment Kindle - Engineers and was attached to the General Staff He also worked for MI and was supposedly the inspiration for John Le Carre s George Smiley And over the course of thirty years, he served MI in various high ranking capacities, including undercover agentHe wrote under a pseudonym and published novels in the thriller, detective and spy fields These included My Name is Michael Sibley , his first novel published in , A Fragment of Fear , and I Love, I Kill He succeeded to the title of th Baron Clanmorris on June He died in .

A Fragment of Fear PDF Ô A Fragment  Kindle -
    A Fragment of Fear PDF Ô A Fragment Kindle - sign of a break inUnable to resist pursuing the unfinished story, Compton s own investigation reveals a sinister side to Lucy Dawson and a cold blooded conspiracy she may have helped to perpetrate while alive Suddenly Compton finds a dangerous net closing in around him threatening phone calls, terrifying invasions of privacy, and no way of proving to the police that anyone is responsible but himselfIn the tradition of Agatha Christie and Patricia Highsmith, John Bingham s writing has earned him a place amongst the great suspense writers of the twentieth century With taut, compelling prose, A Fragment of Fear is a captivating thriller by a master storyteller at the height of his powers."/>
  • Paperback
  • 192 pages
  • A Fragment of Fear
  • John Bingham
  • English
  • 12 April 2017
  • 1416540482

10 thoughts on “A Fragment of Fear

  1. says:

    By day and even by night, the peasant can normally go about his lawful avocations in safety Yet now and again, as he struggles along thedifficult trails, he may catch a momentary glimpse of eyes in the undergrowth on either side, and hear soft movements and the snapping of twigsThis is so close to perfect that it has to be five starred, in spite of some noticeable quibbles that I can t even remember now A master class from the Innocent Enmeshed In Grand Plot school of suspense, w By day and even by night, the peasant can normally go about his lawful avocations in safety Yet now and again, as he struggles along thedifficult trails, he may catch a momentary glimpse of eyes in the undergrowth on either side, and hear soft movements and the snapping of twigsThis is so close to perfect that it has to be five starred, in spite of some noticeable quibbles that I can t even remember now A master class from the Innocent Enmeshed In Grand Plot school of suspense, with all the right riffs and pauses to pace the proceedings on an upward, breath held sweep toward the ending Notably present is the coldwar gray wallpaper of Austerity England, the atmosphere of weary civility that seemed to emanate from the British Twentieth Century Politely observed upheavals, then the consequent denial and reflexive return to form That carry on thing, in spite of the slightly appalling, the unexpected shock, the absurdly transgressive moment when civility shatters I was reminded of the atmosphere and vibe of Patrick Hamilton s Twenty Thousand Streets Under The Sky that postwar condition of having run on shortages and adrenaline for years on end, the ragged nerves and peculiar veneers of patience that were left in place Or possibly, of his Slaves Of Solitude , if well, if there had been murders in that one In his pitch perfect rendition of the Brighton boarding house, Bingham notes the tenor of the sociable surroundings at hand The Bower Hotel, with its overheated rooms and somber exterior was not merely a home for many It was an enclave in which there were smooth waters, where sails were easily trimmed to any light breezes which might from time to time arise Such thunder as was heard came only distantly, from the noisy, brash, modern hinterland, and any lightning was of the harmless, flickering summer type. The mystery reader may rest easily, though, as all that seaside charm and decorum won t be enough to save the day The Bower Hotel was not fitted to withstand forked lightning of the killer variety I arrived in time for lunch, and Bingham is as deft as Hamilton with his characterizations, too, driving straight to the point without much abiguity She was a heavily built woman of about fifty, with iron grey hair cut in an old fashioned bobbed style, a muddy complexion, a square face, and pale blue eyes She was dressed in a brown blouse, a dark grey cardigan, a skirt of a lighter grey, thick beige stockings, low heeled shoes, and wore a single row of large, cheap, pink artificial pearls The big square ashtray on her desk by the window was half filled with cigarette stubs I judged her a woman whom no man had loved The Hotel was her empireInto this overarching realm of loss, malaise and had your tea yet we are coerced into a Hitchcockian psychological mystery that unfolds with all the bells and silent whistles in the night The beauty of the innocent man enmeshed gambit is that it has no need of first person duplicity or layering the innocent is exactly what he is and has much deeper enigmas to solve than the average Conflicted Modern protagonist no time for your approach avoidance lark, grandma, just get to your story and be quick about it Rather than expand here my version of what takes place, I recommend this to the interested reader The perfect winter staycation read Ooops, gotta go, that looks like the Constable at the door and kind of late for a social visit

  2. says:

    In All the President s Men, Woodsteiners were told to display a flower pot in the window for a meeting w Deep Throat, or something like that In this mystery, the harried hero is told to do something similarwith a geranium plant Hmmm did they read this first Bingham is a fine writer and holds you every step of the way as his crime writer tries to figure out why some elderly UK dame was strangled in Italy He figures she d be good copythen he s warned to piss off in no uncertain te In All the President s Men, Woodsteiners were told to display a flower pot in the window for a meeting w Deep Throat, or something like that In this mystery, the harried hero is told to do something similarwith a geranium plant Hmmm did they read this first Bingham is a fine writer and holds you every step of the way as his crime writer tries to figure out why some elderly UK dame was strangled in Italy He figures she d be good copythen he s warned to piss off in no uncertain terms What s up The guessing game suddenly wraps in the last 3 pages, and it won t do The finale is so fliberty hurried, you d think the author was dashing for the Eurostar at St Pancras station He misses the train

  3. says:

    I needed some diversion from the chores of book promotion for Book Rubber Babes Frankly, I d much rather be reading or writing than talking about doing either Anyhow, I ve always been partial to spy thrillers, even though I ve never written one, and I was intrigued to learn that John Le Carr had recommended Bingham as an underrated craftsman of the genre I had no other reason for picking up this vintage 1965 book, but, as it happens, its similarities to some themes in Rubber Babes are rema I needed some diversion from the chores of book promotion for Book Rubber Babes Frankly, I d much rather be reading or writing than talking about doing either Anyhow, I ve always been partial to spy thrillers, even though I ve never written one, and I was intrigued to learn that John Le Carr had recommended Bingham as an underrated craftsman of the genre I had no other reason for picking up this vintage 1965 book, but, as it happens, its similarities to some themes in Rubber Babes are remarkable More

  4. says:

    This is a very well plotted roman noir I kept thinking it would make a wonderful film it reminded me quite a lot of Double Indemnity The premise a man is threatened and finds no one believes him is so simple and yet so effective at creating a sensation of dread without relying on any trickery or dramatic revelations.Nevertheless, I m not a fan of Bingham s writing Though it sometimes skilfully evokes a particular mid century Englishness, I found its tone stilted and even affected I dislike This is a very well plotted roman noir I kept thinking it would make a wonderful film it reminded me quite a lot of Double Indemnity The premise a man is threatened and finds no one believes him is so simple and yet so effective at creating a sensation of dread without relying on any trickery or dramatic revelations.Nevertheless, I m not a fan of Bingham s writing Though it sometimes skilfully evokes a particular mid century Englishness, I found its tone stilted and even affected I disliked his metaphor about about the peasants and the jungle and the ending was outright bungled not only rushed but actually incomprehensible

  5. says:

    Although stilted because of the dated attitudes and manners, this was also a strength with great descriptions of characters and background Well written A simple plot with the protagonist constantly outwitted based on the theme that in the modern jungle, an individual may still face danger In an old fashioned and dated era of formality and manners, institutions eventually come to the rescue I read this book out of curiosity because of the review, introduction , by Le Carre.

  6. says:

    Meh True crime writer is intrigued by a murder which happens while he s on vacation, and tries to solve it Mysterious forces intervene Is he paranoid, or is someone really threatening him Not very interesting after a while.

  7. says:

    it was okay Read it mostly because of le carre s introduction and because of the author s name and because it was short.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *